News & Events

2017 Golden Jubilee exhibition ends

The big summer exhibition of our members’ work closed last week, and what an exhibition it has been. Pulling out the stops for the Golden Jubilee year, the exhibition opened at the end of June with a special preview evening and ended on 1st August with the prize draw. Many visitors came through the doors and admired the display and range of items on offer.

This year the first prize Orkney chair is going to Shetland. Other prizes were collected on the day or will be posted this week to the lucky recipients.  Congratulations to you all.

There is still time to find quality, locally made craft and art-work at our remaining summer fairs and at the county show.

Here are some dates for your diary: (All fairs held in the Kirkwall Town Hall unless otherwise stated)

  • Wednesday 9th August – Craft Fair
  • Thursday 10th August – Dounby Show in the Show Park, Dounby
  • Saturday 12th August – County Show, Bignold Park, Bignold Park Road, Kirkwall
  • Tuesday 15th August – Craft Fair
  • Monday 21st August – Craft Fair
  • Tuesday 22nd August – Craft Fair
  • Tuesday 29th August – Craft Fair         
  • Wednesday 30th August – Craft Fair
  • Monday 4th September – Craft Fair
  • Tuesday 5th September – Craft Fair